The original company came into existence in 1872 in Switzerland, when Julius Maggi took over his father’s mill. At that time during industrial revolution in Switzerland created factory jobs for women, who were therefore left with very little time to prepare meals.

Due to this growing problem Swiss Public Welfare Society asked Julius Maggi to create a vegetable food product that would be quick to prepare and easy to digest.

It was the first to bring protein rich legume meal to the market, which was followed by ready made soup based on legume meal in 1886.

In 1863, Julius Maggi developed a formula to add taste to meals, which later paved the way for Maggi and other easy to make food products. Apart from two minute noodles Maggi also offers a range of product.

However in India it was launched in 1980s by Nestle group of companies. Maggie had merged with Nestle family in 1947.

Is Maggi  non vegetarian?

Maggi contains MSG (Monosodium glutamate) used as a flavor enhancer, which is made? using Bactosoytone, itself made from soy protein using a catalyst enzyme porcine (taken from intestine of Pig). Chemically, catalyst never goes in the molecular structure of Bactosoytone, hence it's Vegetarian for Nestle. MSG as such is harmful to health. Maggi also launched no-MSG series known as Vegetable Atta-Maggie, but that's just a makeover.
Atta Maggie contains? DSG (DiSodium Glutamate), which does contain Bactosoytone. Not written in ingredients as such, hidden under alias Flavor-627. Maggi also contains flavour enhancers E 631 and E 635

Simple experiment to try at home if you are non vegetarian:-

Boil chicken maggi soup powder and vegetarian maggi noodles masala powder

After boiling, taste both of them. They will taste the same.

Latest News from Lifestyle News Desk