A total of 21 MLCs will retire in the next two months, Principal Secretary of the state legislature, Anant Kalse told reporters. A fresh list of 12 members will be sent to the Governor for nomination.
"In view of the general elections, elections for the other nine seats of the state legislature are likely to be held at the earliest before the Lok Sabha polls," Kalse said.
Three seats from the Graduate's constituency and two from Teachers' constituency will fall vacant on July 19.

The twelve nominated members due to retire next month are: Subhash Chavan, Mohan Joshi, Alka Desai, Suresh Navle, Charan Singh Sapra, M M Sheikh (all Congress), Faujia Khan, Vidya Chavan, Ram Pandagale, Vijay Sinh Mohite Patil, Ram Shendge and Sumant Gaikwad (all NCP).

The nine MLCs, whose term expires on April 24, are Jaiprakash Chhajed, Shivajirao Deshmukh (Chairman of Council) (both Congress), Hemant Khul, Rana Jagjit Singh, Sanjay Patil and Kiran Pawaskar (all NCP), Vinod Tawde, Pandurang Phundkar (both BJP) and Neelam Gorhe (Shiv Sena).

Kalse said that a four-day session of the legislature will commence from February 24. The Governor will address a joint sitting of House on the first day and the Interim Budget will be presented during the session.


Latest News from State News Desk