The protest was led by state unit chief Manikrao Thakare. The protestors shouted slogans against the fare hike demanding its immediate rollback.

They also criticized Narendra Modi-led government for burdening the common man.

The protestors, including Thakare, boarded the 11.04 am Thane local train without tickets as a mark of protest.

Congress ministers Mohammed Naseem Khan, Varsha Gaikwad, Mumbai Congress unit president Janardan Chandurkar, legislators Kripashankar Singh, Rajhans Singh, Anant Gadgil and Haribhau Rathod were among the prominent party leaders along with MPCC functionaries present on the occasion.

In a pre-budget move, the cash-strapped railways had last week effected a steep across-the-board hike of 14.2 percent in passenger fares in all classes and a 6.5 percent increase in freight rates to garner Rs 8,000 crore a year.


Latest News from State News Desk