Both Kadam and Jagtap are among the eight sitting MLCs from the local self-government bodies seats in the Upper House of the State Legislature retiring on January 1, 2016. They have been renominated again by their respective parties.
With Jagtap being fielded again, the speculation about former chief minister Narayan Rane being the candidate from Congress has been put to rest. The last date of filing of nomination papers is December 9.
Polling for elections to eight seats of the Legislative Council from the self-government bodies in Maharashtra would be held on December 27.
The term of following Legislative Council members ends on January 1, 2016 - Amrish Patel (Dhule-Nandurbar),  Mahadev Mahadik (Kolhapur), Rajendra Mulak (Nagpur) and Bhai Jagtap (Mumbai) - all from Congress.

Latest News from State News Desk