A resolution moved by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prakash Mehta seeking to suspend Rahul Bondre, Abdul Sattar, Amar Kale, Virendra Jagtap and Jaikumar Gore was passed by the the House by voice vote.
The MLAs were protesting against "unconstitutional" manner in which the motion of confidence in the Devendra Fadnavis government was passed by voice vote instead of a division vote.
While moving the resolution, Mehta said the five MLAs had got close to the Governor and apparently jostled with him, injuring his hand. "Their action has lowered the dignity of the august House," he said.
Senior BJP MLA Girish Bapat said a committee headed by Speaker Haribhau Bagde has been constituted to probe the incident.
The panel includes Leader of Opposition Eknath Shinde, Congress Legislature Party leader Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, senior PWP legislator Ganpatrao Deshmukh, Prakash Mehta, besides Bapat.
The committee will probe the incident and submit its report next month. The decision on whether to continue or revoke the suspension will be taken during the winter session of the state legislature in Nagpur, also beginning next month.
Revenue Minister Eknath Khadse said two officials of the legislature were also injured in the melee.
"Governor's left hand was injured. The issue does not end with an apology. This should not be tolerated," Khadse said before the motion for suspension was moved.
Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil said there was no intention to hurt anyone but he was prepared to apologise.
Ajit Pawar, R R Patil and Chhagan Bhujbal of NCP said the matter should be put to rest after an apology, if the report of Governor getting injured was true.
Today is the first day of the new Assembly and it should not start on a bitter note, they said.

Fadnavis wins trust vote; Sena, Congress cry foul

The 13-day-old BJP government in Maharashtra on Wednesday won the trust vote in the Assembly but the passage of the confidence motion triggered a huge controversy with Shiv Sena and Congress contesting the procedure and claiming it had failed to prove majority.

Calling the development a "black day" in the history of the state, the two opposition parties announced that they would register their protest with Governor C Vidyasagar Rao.
Earlier, BJP MLA Ashish Shelar moved a one-line motion seeking confidence of the House in the Devendra Fadnavis-led government, which was put to a voice vote by Speaker Haribhau Bagde.

As the legislators supporting the motion exclaimed "Aye", the Speaker declared it passed, triggering a storm of protest among Shiv Sena and Congress MLAs, who rushed to the Well of the House. Sena earlier in the day formally decided to occupy the main Opposition's space in the Assembly.

"The motion has been passed," Bagde was heard saying over the din. Agitated MLAs of Shiv Sena and Congress were seen arguing with the Speaker even as the decibel level rose steadily, forcing him to adjourn the proceedings.

During the proceedings, members of NCP, which had offered outside support to the BJP government, remained quietly seated.
Sena had earlier staked its claim to the Leader of Opposition's position and the Speaker had said he would take up its demand after the trust vote as Congress too had demanded the post on the grounds that Sena continues to be a constituent of the BJP-led NDA.
As proceedings resumed, the Speaker announced appointment of Sena Legislature Party leader Eknath Shinde as the Leader of the Opposition in the House.
Led by Shinde, Sena MLAs again took up their protest and called for the confidence motion to be determined by a division of votes.
BJP has 121 MLAs and, together with NCP's 41, has the support of 162 MLAs, 18 more than required for a majority in the House which has an effective strength of 287. The party has also claimed the support of seven Independents, three of Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi and some others from smaller parties.

Latest News from State News Desk