Home Minister Ahmad Zahid Hamidi told reporters that Indian and Chinese tourists would be granted the visa-on-arrival (VoA) facility, but only for those who enter Malaysia through a third country, media reported.

Currently, India and China passport holders are required to apply for a visa before travelling to Malaysia.

Malaysia had scrapped the VoA facility offered to visitors from eight countries in 2010, including China and India, due to its abuse.

It is reported that thousands of tourists have abused their VoA by overstaying. The VoA facility was introduced in 2006 in conjunction with Visit Malaysia Year 2007.

According to the immigration division, 39,000 Indian nationals and 6,000 Chinese citizens have overstayed in Malaysia.


Latest News from World News Desk