"The Special MCOCA Court's verdict came in the afternoon on the discharge application filed by all the nine accused in that case. They have been discharged," advocate Shahid Nadeem Ansari told a news agency.

Of the nine accused, Shabbir Ahmed died in an accident a few months back, he added. The eight discharged were: Noorul Huda, Raees Ahmed, Salman Farsi, Farokh Magdumi, Shaikh Mohammed Ali, Asif Khan, Mohammed Zahid and Abrar Ahmed, lawyer Ansari said.

They were arrested and later charge-sheeted for the 2006 Malegaon blasts which left 37 dead and over a 100 injured. They were subsequently freed on bail in November 2011.

Latest News from India News Desk