Kolkata: With the declaration of by-poll dates for two assembly seats of West Bengal, the political circle of the state is abuzz with activities. It is expected that in the coming week, Mamata may submit her resignation from the Parliament to the Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar during the ongoing Monsoon Session.

Election Commission on Thursday had announced the dates for the by-election for the Bhawanipur and Basirhat assembly seat and also the moral code of conduct was brought into effect. On coming Monday, an official notification would be issued for the filing of nomination papers.

While Mamata would contest from the Bhawanipur constituency in south Kolkata, the name of Trinamool Congress (TMC) candidate from Basirhat seat is yet to be announced. CPM is still to reveal the name of party candidates. However, it is expected that in the coming two to three days, all political parties would make their stand clear.

In order to facilitate Mamata to contest from the Bhawanipur, the sitting party legislator and PWD and Transport Minister Subrata Buxi, submitted his resignation last week. He is likely to be named as TMC candidate from Basirhat assembly seat.

Despite the TMC wave in the West Bengal assembly elections, Mostafa Bin Kashem kept the CPM flag flying high in the Basirhat assembly segment. However, barely few days after winning the assembly seat, Kashem jumped from the MLA hostel to end his life. Following which the seat was lying vacant for past few months.

According to the sources, after Mamata renders her resignation from Lok Sabha, the Election Commission would soon announce the dates for by-poll at South Kolkata Parliamentary seat.

Mamata is yet to name party candidate from the South Kolkata Parliamentary seat. Speculations are rife that Banerjee’s nephew Abhishek may contest under the party banner from the seat.