“With an aim towards providing even better and speedy governance to the people of the state, the Trinamool Congress Government is going to induct two new ministers into the state cabinet on Thursday," the party said in its website on Wednesday.

Sashi Panja, MLA from Shyampukur in Kolkata, and Binay Burman, MLA from Mathabhanga in Cooch Behar district, would be inducted into the Cabinet.

Panja would be inducted as a minister with independent charge, the website said.

Forest Minister Hiten Burman has tendered his resignation to the Chief Minister citing health issues and he would be replaced by Binay Burman.

Swapan Debnath, who is the minister of state for cottage and small scale industry, would be elevated as a minister with independent charge.

Veteran Congress legislator Ajoy Dey, Trinamool Congress (TMC) legislator Soumitra Khan and Samajwadi Party legislator Chand Mohammad are among those eyeing ministerial berths.

As per law, the state can have a maximum of 44 ministers.

West Bengal Governor MK Narayanan would administer the oath of office and secrecy to the new ministers at Raj Bhavan on Thursday.

Banerjee last reshuffled the Cabinet in November 2012.


Latest News from West Bengal News Desk