Shimla: The model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect for Mandi by-polls to be held on June 23, Uttarakhand Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan said.

The Election Commission will issue notification on May 29 for the Mandi by-polls. The candidates can file nominations by June 5, while the commission will scrutinize the papers on June 6, said the official.

The candidates can withdraw their nomination papers by June 8, whereas the counting will be held on June 27, added the official.

The by-polls to Mandi have been necessitated as Virbhadra Singh vacated the seat after he was elected to Himachal Pradesh Assembly in 2012 polls. Later, he became Chief Minister of state.

Virbhadra won the prestigious seat thrice in 1971, 1980 and 2009. Earlier in 2004, Virbhadra’s wife Pratibha Singh won Mandi seat. Pratibha is likely to be fielded by the Congress, whereas Ram Swaroop Sharma, Jai Ram Thakur and Ajay Rana have emerged strong contenders for BJP ticket.

Mandi Parliamentary constituency comprises 17 assembly segments.


Latest News from Uttarakhand News Desk