Imphal: Repolling at 34 polling stations in Manipur's hill districts began on saturday morning amidst tight security in view of threats from insurgent organisations.

Extra security measures have been taken as the government has received reports that militants particularly belonging to National Socialist Council of Nagaland (I-M) were roaming around the polling stations.

Officials said repolling began at all the 34 polling stations spread across Ukhrul, Senapati, Tamenglong, Chandel and Churachandpur from 7 AM and it would end at 3 PM.

Repoll was necessary because miliatants tried to disrupt the poll and besides some irregularities were also reported during the Manipur assembly polls on January 28.

Sources said unlike in the past there would be three or four layers of security deployment during the repoll on Saturday because intelligence office said there were movement of ultras around the polling stations all in interior hills to prevent any untoward incident.

Election office said counting of votes would take place on March 6.

Prominent candidates in fray from various valley districts include Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh (Thoubal), senior congress leader and forest minister Th Debendra Singh (Jiribam), senior congress leader and well-known advocate, Laishram Nanda Kumar (Uripok), food and civil supply minister and senior Congress leader Yumkham Erabot (Wangkhei).

Besides, Manipur People's Party (MPP) president Nimachiand Luwang (Wangkhem), senior MPP leader and former deputy chief minister L Chandramani (Patsoi), NCP chief and former Manipur chief minister Radhabinod Koijam (Thangmeiband) are also contesting.