Manjhi, who has succeeded Nitish Kumar as the new Chief Minister after the latter demitted office taking moral responsibility for the JD (U)'s debacle in general elections, had sought a confidence vote in the assembly.

Soon after the confidence motion was moved by the new Chief Minister at the special session, the BJP MLAs staged a walkout. While arch rival Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), which has extended unconditional support to the JD(U), were seen  coming in rescue of the Bihar government.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was up on its toes on Friday with its leaders launching a blistering attack on the JD (U)-led government and Nitish Kumar for ‘plunging Bihar into a crisis’ merely due to his ‘deep hatred’ for Prime Minister designate Narendra Modi.

Leader of Opposition Nand Kishore Yadav said the change of guard in Bihar was a ‘side effect’ of the BJP's victory in the Lok Sabha polls.
"Even as Narendra Modi has not taken oath as Prime Minister 'ache din' have arrived for you by becoming Chief Minister," Yadav told Manjhi.
"Had Nitish Kumar not be dealt this blow in the general elections, he would have never resigned to make way for you to become the CM," he added.
Amid exchange of barbs between BJP and JD (U) members, Yadav took potshots at the efforts towards realignment of JD (U), RJD and Congress against BJP in the state for the sake of power.

The RJD has 21 members in the Bihar Assembly. The JD (U) has 117 members including the Speaker and Opposition; BJP has an effective strength of 88. The effective strength of the Bihar Assembly is 237 following resignation of six members - three from RJD, two from BJP and one from JD (U).

The 2014 Lok Sabha elections proved to be a huge setback for the RJD and JD (U). Showing their worst ever performance, both the parties managed to win only four and two seats respectively.

Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) recorded a landslide victory in the general elections. The BJP in alliance with Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RSLP) won 32 seats out of 40 in Bihar.

Taking moral responsibility of the poor show of the party in the general elections, Nitish resigned as Bihar Chief Minister.

Out of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, the  BJP won 22 seats on its own, while its allies LJP won six and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party of Upendra Kushwaha bagged three seats. The RJD bagged four seats, the Congress and JD (U) won two seats each and NCP emerged victorious in only one seat.

Bonhomie in Legislative Assembly    

Before the House started its business at 11 am, Manjhi reached out to the Leader of Opposition and shook hands. He later went to all members cutting across party lines and shook hands with them.
The members also congratulated him and hailed the party's decision of electing a member of 'Mahadalit' community, weakest among the weaker Dalit section, as the Chief Minister.
At the very outset in his speech on trust motion, Yadav greeted Manjhi.
Ruling JD (U) members were also gracious enough to congratulate BJP legislators Ashwani Choubey and Janardan Singh Sigriwal who won Lok Sabha elections from Buxar and Maharajganj, respectively.
Exchange of pleasantries continued when five newly elected members in the Assembly bypoll took oath and went to shake hands with the CM, Speaker Udai Narayan Choudhary and all other members.
But, the exchange of roses and show of smile for adversaries soon evaporated as the House started debate over the confidence vote.
While all these things were happening in the House, outgoing Chief Minister Nitish Kumar who resigned after JD(U)'s debacle in the general elections was missing from the scene.
Even former Deputy Chief Minister and senior Bihar BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi was not seen in the visitors gallery where state BJP chief Mangal Pandey and others were seated.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk