New Delhi: Maoists attacked the convoy of BJP MLA from Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh on Friday. MLA’s car escaped the landmine blast, but Maoists blew up one of the eight vehicles of the convoy in a forested area Pegrapalli in Bijapur district.

Three people were reportedly killed in the incident. Among deceased, while two are said to be party’s local workers, the third person has been identified as driver of a car. Those killed were Purshotam Thakur - the BJP district unit vice president, Mahesh Pujari who is said to be another key local BJP leader and Ashwani Sharma, the vehicle driver.

The legislature was accompanied by Bijapur district collector Rajat Kumar. According to district administration, Bijapur legislator Mahesh Gagda and district collector are safe.

The incident took place on a bridge on the Bhopalpattanam-Bijapur road in Chhattisgarh’s Bijapur district at around 4 pm.

The MLA was returning after interacting with villagers from a remote forested area as part of the BJP government's ongoing mega-rural drive ‘Gram Suraj’ under which government officials and people's representatives hold meetings with rural residents to assess the performance of the government's welfare schemes.