The Itwa assembly constituency, which goes to polls during the first phase on February 8, will decide the fate of former Uttar Pradesh Assembly Speaker and Samajwadi Party candidate Mata Prasad Pandey. The SP candidate is locked in a triangular fight with the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Congress.

The incumbent MLA, Pandey is contesting on SP ticket this time. He was the Speaker of the House in 2004. He is facing stiff competition from Congress candidate Mohammad Muqeem and BSP candidate Subodh Chandra Yadav. The Bharatiya Janata Party fielded Jippi Tiwari from the prestigious seat.

Veteran SP leader is all set to make hat trick by winning Itwa seat. He had won the seat in 2002 and 2007 Assembly polls. In 2002 Pandey defeated Mohd  Muqueem of the Congress. In 2007, he had registered victory on the seat by defeating BSP candidate Javed.

The Itwa constituency falls under the Domariaganj Parliamentary seat which is represented by Congress stalwart Jagdambika Pal. Certainly, former Chief Minister Pal is under tremendous pressure to ensure the victory of his party candidates not only from Itwa seat but also from Domariyaganj, Shoratgarh, Naugarh and Bansi constituencies.