Kochi: Mauritius President Rajkeswur Purryag is among the 15 persons and organisations selected for the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman awards for this year.

Purryag, who has ancestral roots in India, has been selected for his public service, Union Minister for Non-Resident Indian Affairs Vayalar Ravi said announcing the awards on Wednesday.

President Pranab Mukherjee would confer the awards to his Mauritian counterpart and others at the valedictory session of the 11th edition of Pravasi Bhartiya Divas, India's annual event to connect with its diaspora, on Wednesday evening.

Purryag was also the Chief Guest at the three-day annual event that began on January 7 and concludes on Wednesday.

The other awardees are Prof Dr Gurusharan Singh Chhatwal of Germany for science, Dr Rasik Vihari Joshi (Mexico) for Literature, Gilbert Canabady Moutien (Reunion Island) and Mohammed Rabeeh Karuvanthodi (Saudi Arabia) for business, Patricia Maria Rozario(UK) for Music, Dr Narendra Ramakrishna Kumar (USA) for Healthcare, Subash Razdan (USA) and Islmail Ebrahim (South Afrcia) for Public service.

Dr Satendra Kumar Singh (New Zealand), Australia India Society of Victoria (Australia) and Bava Pandalingal (UAE), Ashok Shambhomal Vaswani (Guinea), Indian Doctors Forum, Kuwait for community service, Tan Sri Ravindran Menon from Malaysia for Community service, are among others on the list of awardees.


Latest News from India News Desk