New Delhi: Only a few days after they elected the new Mayor and Deputy Mayor, political temperature amongst the councilors of Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) is gathering steam as election for the ward committees for all the 12 zones would be held in two phases on May 5 & 6.

Municipal Secretary’s office will issue the notification in this regard on Monday.With an eye on the top posts, councilors, especially those of the ruling BJP, have got into hectic parleys.

MCD holds election for chairman and deputy-chairman of 12 committees apart from other committees including that of education, rural, gardening and construction every year.

However, the bigger question dodging the ruling BJP is whether the party would like to bring changes in these committees when only ten months are left for the civic body elections. 

Those already on the post are trying to impress upon the party leadership that they should also be allowed to continue with their post on the lines on chairman and deputy-chairman of the standing committee.

Several BJP councilors are already upset with the last-minute announcement of the name of Rajni Abbi and Anil Sharma for the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Six members for the standing committee along with the chairman and deputy chairman will be elected in the ward committee election. The election will be held on May 5 in Najafgarh, Narela, Civil lines, west zone and Karol Bagh zones, while Rohini, Shahdara North, Shahdara South, Sadar Paharganj and Central zone would go for polls on May 6.