But a 51-year-old Indian woman cricketer, Sunita Sharma, who never represented Indian women's cricket team, was part of the 15-member squad. She is one of the pioneer female cricket coach in India and the first woman cricket coach.

It was not easy choice for Sunita to coach players as during her initial days, parents were not willing to send their children for cricket training. But her passion for cricket did not let her give up and she did what she wanted. Sunita as a coach has produced many domestic and international players in last 27 years.

She herself played cricket in Indian domestic circuit for long and once she was selected to represent nation cricket team but she never made it to the final playing XI of the team. This failure made her more determined and she opted to become a coach and began to live her dream through her students.

Sunita worked really hard with her students and was bestowed with highest award in sports coaching 'The Dronacharya Award' by the Indian Government in 2004. Dr. APJ Kalam, the then President conferred her the awarded for her outstanding contribution in cricket coaching.  

“ It was very difficult for me initially and the senior boys were not ready to accept me as a cricket coach. They challenged me, teased me. I was even asked to play certain shots by them, but I never let that affect me,” she had said in an interview.

Determined Sunita went on doing what she wanted and over the years and players from her coaching centre also started doing well at different levels. It was selection of  Kolkata cricketer Deep Dasgupta in Indian team that brought her in limelight. Sunita was the coach of Dasgupta since he was just seven-year-old.

After getting exposure, she never looked back and one after another she had coached national talents like Vishal Sharma, Shubash Chaudhury, Sumeet Dogra and Ajay Verma. Some women talents from Sunita's coaching centre are Anita Sharma (medium pacer), Asha Rawat (batsman) Anjum Chopra, Anju Jain, Shashi Gupta and Mani Mala.  Sunita had also trained Padma Shree award winner - Gargi Banerjee.

Latest News from Sports News Desk