Dressed in black, 56-year-old Mehbooba took the oath of office and secrecy in Urdu followed by BJP's Nirmal Singh, who will again be the Deputy Chief Minister in the new PDP-BJP government formed three months after the state was put under Governor's rule following the demise of her father Mufti Mohammad Sayeed.

Governor NN Vohra also administered the oath to 21 other Ministers. BJP's share increased this time in the Cabinet from six to eight berths and three Ministers of State (MoS) while PDP has nine Cabinet Ministers instead of 11 last time. Mehbooba's party has got three MoS berths, same as the last time. In the last government, BJP had a total of 11 ministers -- six in Cabinet, three MoS and two with independent charge.

Latest News from Jammu and Kashmir News Desk



Mehbooba Mufti sworn in as J&K's first woman Chief Minister


Jammu: Mehbooba Mufti, chairperson of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was sworn in as the first woman Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir today.


The swearing in ceremony of Mehbooba Mufti-led PDP-BJP coalition government took place at 11.00 am in Jammu. N.N. Vohra administered oath of office to Mufti, 56, as the 13th Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir at state Raj Bhawan in Jammu.


Mufti became the first woman Chief Minister of India's only Muslim majority state.