BJP spokesperson Sambit Patra said Kumar's swearing-in witnessed a range of opposition leaders, including Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Arvind Kejriwal, Farooq Abdullah, Sharad Pawar and H D Deve Gowda, but all them were highly ambitious making it difficult for them to come together.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, Chief Ministers of West Bengal, Delhi, Mamata Banerjee, Arvind Kejriwal, National

Conference leaders and former Jammu and Kashmir CMs Farooq Abdullah and his son Omar, AIUDF leader from Assam Badaruddin Ajmal and former prime minister and JDS supremo H D Deve Gowda were present at the ceremony.

Congress chief ministers like Virbhadra Singh (Himachal Pradesh), Oommen Chandy (Kerala), Tarun Gogoi (Assam) and Siddaramiah (Karnataka), CPI(M)'s Sitaram Yechury, CPI's Sudhakar Reddy and D Raja, DMK's M K Stalin and T R Baalu also attended the event.

Some allies of BJP, Akali Dal's Sukhbir Badal (Punjab Deputy Chief Minister) and Ram Das Kadam and Subhash Desai of Shiv Sena were also present.

Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu, who was deputed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, was also present.

Latest News from State News Desk