The decision was taken with a view to promote the tourism potential in Arunachal Pradesh in the form of adventure tourism, diverse cultural heritage, multi-faceted  fairs and festivals, world famous Buddhist monasteries.

The entire area of Arunachal Pradesh is covered by the Protected Area Regime under the Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order, 1958 and no foreigner can enter or stay in the state without obtaining a permit from the competent authority.

Some relaxations were made in past in the Protected  area regime in the state and the proposal of the state government for opening of additional tour circuits for foreign tourists is under Centre's consideration for quite some time.

It has been decided to allow creation of a new tourist circuits Margerita – Jairampur – Nampong – Manmao – Pangsau Pass and extension of the existing circuit Margerita – Miao – Namdapa to Vijoynagar, the statement said.

To simplify the procedure, powers to issue 'Protected Area Permit' have been delegated to deputy Resident Commissioner, Kolkata and Guwahati directly to the foreign tourists, it said adding, sponsorship requirement of registered tour operators has been waived.
Similarly powers have been delegated to Resident Commissioner, New Delhi and Deputy Resident Commissioners, Kolkata and Guwahati to issue 'Protected Area Permit' to single foreign tourists visiting Tawang , West Kameng and Lower Subansiri districts.
These relaxations are expected to facilitate arrival of foreign nationals and make their stay in Arunachal Pradesh hassle free, the statement added.

Latest News from State News Desk