Melbourne: Captain Michael Clarke has claimed his third Allan Border Medal as Australia's cricketer of the year after also winning Test player honours and just missing out on the one-day international award.

Clarke's victory on Monday as the country's top cricketer places him second on the all-time list, trailing only former captain Ricky Ponting, who has claimed the award four times in its 13-year history.

The 30-year-old Clarke earned 231 votes from players, media and umpires, with Mike Hussey second on 174 and Shane Watson third with 166.

Allrounder Shane Watson, who missed three months with calf and hamstring injuries, won both the one-day international and Twenty20 player of the year awards.