India is placed in Pool A along with France, Poland, Pakistan and Australia whereas China, Ireland, Malaysia, Great Britain and Belgium are in Pool B.

Sardar, who has to his credit of 216 International caps, will be supported by PR Sreejesh as his deputy. Playing their first match on June 20, India are slotted against France in their opening match of the tournament.

Speaking on the announcement of the team, India Chief Coach Paul van Ass said, "The team is full of confidence which they proved in the recent Japan series where they gave Japan a tough time and beat them 3-0.


GOALKEEPERS: PR Sreejesh, Harjot Singh

DEFENDERS: Manpreet Singh, Birendra Lakra, Kothajit Singh, VR Ragunath, Jasjit Singh Kular, Gurmail Singh

MIDFIELDERS: Gurbaj Singh, Dharamvir Singh, Sardar Singh, Chinglensana Singh, Lalit Upadhyay

FORWARDS: SV Sunil, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Yuvraj Walmiki, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh.

Latest News from Sports News Desk