The replacement came as Taylor announced his retirement from the longer format a couple of days back.

The 25-year-old Cummins has played 41 first-class matches, with 116 wickets (average 22.56). He was a part of the Test squad in Australia earlier this year. Though he did not play any match in the series.

Taylor, who will continue to play in the shorter formats, had made his international debut against Sri Lanka in 2003 and played his last Test series against Australia in January this year. He took 130 wickets in his 46 Test-matches career.

West Indies squad for first Test:

Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite (vc), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson and Marlon Samuels.

Latest News from Sports News Desk