New Delhi: Two days after a vigilance report to the Delhi Police Commissioner indicted lapses by the police set-up in probing the brutal rape of five-year-old girl, some officers were transferred on Monday.

Delhi's east district Deputy Commissioner of Police, Prabhakar, a 2003-batch IPS officer, was transferred with the immediate effect from Monday.

Prabhakar has been replaced by 2001 batch IPS Officer, Ajay Kumar. South district's DCP Chhaya Sharma and DCP (headquarters) Vivek Kishore have been transferred to Mizoram. Both are from the same, 1999-batch IPS Officers.

Sharma has been replaced by BS Jaiswal, a 2001 batch IPS Officer who was holding the charge of DCP (outer Delhi). Sharma was heading south district where a 23-year-old woman was gang-raped in moving bus in Dec 16. A 1998 batch IPS Officer, Sanjay Kumar has been posted as Additional Commissioner of Police (ACP) (outer Delhi). He was an ACP in the Prime Minister's security.


Latest News from State News Desk