The fourth ball of his 21st over was clocked at 160.4 kilometres per hour (99.7 mph). Only four other fast bowlers have officially been recorded to have bowled at more than 160 kilometres per hour.

Pakistan's Shoaib Akhtar holds the record with a 161.3 kilometres per hour thunderbolt against England at Newlands in 2003.

Australian pair Shaun Tait and Brett Lee were both recorded at 161.1 kilometres per hour.

The only other bowler to reach the mark was Australian firebrand Jeff Thomson at 160.6 kilometres per hour. He is widely considered the fastest bowler in cricket history.

Starc's delivery was a yorker dug out by Kiwi batsman Ross Taylor.

On the very next ball, Taylor edged an attempted drive to gully, where a tough chance was grassed by Mitchell Marsh.

Latest News from Sports News Desk