Bikapur Assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh has become high profile as Rashtriya Lok Dal candidate Munna Singh Chauhan would lock horns with Samajwadi Party veteran Mitrasen Yadav.

The RLD, which has tied up the Congress, fielded former minister and MLC Chauhan from Bikapur seat in Faizabad district. Chauhan is facing tough fight from SP stalwart Mitrasen, who was recently granted bail in an embezzlement case. The area has been the fiefdom of three time MP Mitrasen.

In 2007 Assembly polls, Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Jitendra Kumar Bablu Bhaiya defeated Sita Ram Nishad of the SP.

In a changed political scenario, the BSP replaced Jitendra by Firoz Khan to deal with the anti-incumbency against him. He was arrested along with Intezar Abidi for allegedly attacking and setting fire to the house of State Congress leader Rita Bahuguna in central Lucknow.

The Bharatiya Janata Party gave ticket to Anil Tiwari from Bikarpur while Peace Party, which has made its presence felt in General Elections 2009, fielded Jitendra Singh.