Friday was the last date of filing of nominations. Scrutiny of nominations would be done on Saturday and the last date of withdrawal is Monday, they said.
Those who filed nominations on Friday include Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla of the Congress who filed his candidature from both Serchhip and Hrangturzo seats.
Former chief minister Zoramthanga of the Mizo National Front (MNF) filed his nominations from the East Tuipui constituency while the MNF's junior ally, the Mizoram People's Conference (MPC) chief Lalhmangaiha Sailo filed nominations from the Aizawl East-I seat.
Others who had filed nominations included Lalduhawma, president of the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) from Aizawl West-I and Kolasib seats and the lone Rajya Sabha member Lalhmingliana of the MNF from Serlui constituency.
Political analysts predicted that the main contest would be between the MNF-led alliance - the Mizoram Democratic Alliance (MDA) and the ruling Congress while others did not rule out the possibility of the ZNP led by police officer-turned-politician, Lalduhawma of turning out to be the dark horse.
The ruling Congress has been contesting all 40 seats and 31 sitting legislators, excluding former minister Nirupam Chakma, were contesting from the same constituencies where from they won in the 2008 Assembly elections.
The MDA is also contesting from all 40 seats while the ZNP from 38 seats and the BJP from 11 constituencies.


Latest News from State News Desk