Lal Thanhawla has successfully contested from Serchhip for five times since 1984.

He lost from the constituency only once in 1998. Earlier he had won from Champhai seat in 1978 and 1979 assembly polls. But since 1987, the seat became the home turf of MNF chief Zoramthanga.

In Serchhip, the main opposition MNF was likely to field C Lalramzauva, an advocate, against Lal Thanhawla for the forthcoming polls, MNF sources said.

In 2008, Lal Thanhawla had defeated Lalramzauva, the then Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and MPC combine nominee by 952 votes, while MNF candidate R Lalhnuna came third.
"With the MNF and the MPC forging an alliance this time, the combine has a good chance to defeat Lal Thanhawla," MNF sources claimed.

If Lal Thanhawla decides to contest from Hrangturzo as his second seat, he was likely to face opposition from Lalthansanga of the MPC, MNF sources said.

Lalthansanga had won the seat in the last assembly election defeating his Congress rival Ronald Sapa Tlau by 452 votes.

"If the pre-poll alliance between the MNF and the MPC remains intact, Lal Thanhawla will face a tough fight in the second constituency," a MNF leader said.

However, Congress sources said that a seasoned politician like Lal Thanhawla would not choose a seat unless he has a high chance of winning.


Latest News from State News Desk