Release of commemorative coins on Nehru and organising "Bal Swachhta Mission" in schools across the country between November 14 and 19 will mark the celebrations of the anniversary of the late Congress leader.
The decisions were taken at a meeting of the recently- reconstituted National Committee for Commemoration of the 125th birth anniversary of Jawaharlal Nehru chaired by the Prime Minister.
The official committee, initially set up by the Manmohan Singh government and including Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, was reconstituted by Modi a few days back with none from the Gandhi family finding a place, triggering a controversy.
The PMO, however, argued that Sonia Gandhi had opted out of the committee in May itself.
At the meeting, Modi said the opportunity must be used to increase awareness about "Chacha Nehru", the name by which the first Prime Minister is popularly known, among the younger generation and seek inspiration from his life and work, a PMO statement said.
Asking the committee members to work towards a clear delineation of the events and programmes, he expressed the hope that the entire set of activities would be conducted in such a way that the common man became a part of the celebrations.
He highlighted the proposals about organising "Bal Swachhta Mission" in schools across the country between November 14 and 19 and celebrating the 125th anniversary of Nehru as "Year of Bal Swachhta."
Modi also said "promotion of scientific temper among children" would be a prominent objective of the celebrations, the statement said, adding he invited suggestions on these and any other related subjects.
Various members welcomed and appreciated the objectives mentioned by the Prime Minister and expressed a range of views and gave constructive suggestions on the agenda.
Modi said the suggestions would be reviewed by the Executive Committee chaired by Home Minister Rajnath Singh. The Committee will work out the action plan for the entire year.
Besides Rajnath Singh, the meeting was attended by ministers Arun Jaitley, Smriti Irani, Shripad Naik and Prakash Javadekar.

Latest News from India News Desk