But despite India been savior country for Bangladesh since its independence, there were many 'bones of contention' between two natural friend countries.

1. The first treaties – 'Indo-Bangladeshi Treaty of Friendship' and 'Cooperation and Peace Bangladesh' -- were signed between the neighboring nations on March 19, 1972. The treaties were signed by the then Prime Minister of India Indira Gandhi and Prime Minister of Bangladesh Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

2. The two countries declined to renegotiate or renew the treaty (Indo-Bangladeshi Treaty of Friendship, Cooperation and Peace Bangladesh) when it approached expiry in 1997 as disputes occurred over sharing of water resources of the Farakka Barrage (accrose the Ganga river) and India's perceived delayed withdrawal of troops from Bangladesh.

3. On September 6, 2011 India and Bangladesh signed a historic agreement on demarcation of land boundaries.

4. As India and Bangladesh share as many as 54 rivers, there are conflict of interests. In 1972 both countries set up a Joint River Commission for water management but no concrete output come till date.

5. A breakthrough was achieved when a bilateral treaty was signed in 1996 that established a 30-year water-sharing arrangement between the two countries.

6. In September 2011, the then Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh signed a pact with his Bangladesh regarding access and use of the Teesta River.

7. The extradition treaty between India and Bangladesh came into effect on 23 October 2013 with the handing over of the instruments of ratification.

8. Protocol to the 1974 Land Boundary Agreement was singed to address all outstanding land boundary issues and provide a final settlement to the India-Bangladesh boundary.

Latest News from India News Desk