“As Delhi votes today, urging people in Delhi to maintain the trends of record turnouts in other states & go vote in large numbers,” Modi said on twitter.

“I would particularly request my young friends & first time voters of Delhi to go out & vote,” he added.

The election to 70-member Delhi Assembly began at 8 am amid tight security. Nearly 1.12 crore voters will cast their votes at 11,992 polling booths to elect a new government. The Election Commission has made elaborate security arrangement for conducting free and fare polls.

Of nearly 1.12 crore voters, there are over 4.5 lakh first-time voters in Delhi. For the first time, voters in the national capital will be provided the ‘None of the Above’ option in EVMs.

Out of 11,753 polling booths, 630 have been declared as sensitive.

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief Arvind Kejriwal cast his vote at the Hanuman Road polling booth in New Delhi, while BJP’s chief ministerial candidate Dr. Harsh Vardhan cast his vote at the Krishna Nagar polling booth.

A total of 810 candidates are in the fray for the 70-member assembly. Out of this, only 70 are women. A total of only 11 women candidates have been fielded by the Congress and BJP this time, while six women are contesting the polls on the tickets of Aam Admi Party.

Of the 810 candidates, a total number of 108 Muslims have been fielded for the Delhi Assembly elections.

Delhi Lt Governor Najeeb Jung has declared December 4 as a public holiday in the national capital in view of the assembly polls.

BJP’s high-voltage campaign was led by party stalwart Lal Krishna Advani and its Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi who left no stone unturned in taking potshots at the Sheila Dikshit Government and the debutant Aam Aadmi Party.

With its slogan ‘Badlenge Dilli, badlenge Bharat’ (Delhi will change, India will change) and ‘Congress mukt Bharat’ (Congress free India), the leaders of the saffron outfit gave a clarion call to the electorate to rid Delhi of the Congress.

Moreover, the BJP is banking on the reputation of well-known ENT specialist and its chief ministerial candidate Dr. Harsh Vardhan. The senior Delhi BJP leader, who enjoys wide support in the party, has a clean image and is widely credited with pioneering the pulse polio programme in India.

Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, who is seeking her fourth term as Delhi’s Chief Minister, has cautioned the voters not to be misled by the BJP and the debutant AAP.

With the broom as its election symbol, the Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party has vowed to rid the national capital of corruption and promises to bring in the Lokpal, or an anti-corruption ombudsman, within 15 days if it is voted into power.

Voting will close at five in the evening and the counting of votes will take place on December 8.