Shah, who is tipped to be the next BJP president, is back in Uttar Pradesh to oversee the party's pitch for the upcoming by-polls to 12 assembly seats later this year. Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s trusted lieutenant will also chalk out the BJP’s strategy for the assembly polls that are scheduled for 2017.

With an eye on victory, Shah in consultation with senior party leaders in the state has appointed coordinators for each of these seven Lok Sabha constituencies, including Gorakhpur strongman Yogi Adityanath for Mulayam Singh Yadav's Azamgarh and senior RSS leader Kalraj Mishra for Sonia Gandhi's Rae Bareli.

Badaun's responsibility has been handed over to Santosh Gangwar. Keshav Maurya, who wrenched Phoolpur from Mayawati-led BSP, has been asked to monitor Amethi from where Rahul Gandhi won against Smriti Irani.

Firozabad will be monitored by Ramshankar Katheria while Kaushal Kishore will look after Mainpuri.

All the coordinators have been asked to visit their allotted constituency on a regular basis. They have been issued instructions to monitor the working of the party’s unit there and hold ‘jan sabhas’ to collect complaints from the people of their respective constituencies.


Latest News from India News Desk