FIA President Jean Todt, together with Executive Director of the  Russian Automobile Federation, Sergey Ivanov, Formula E CEO, Alejandro Agag, and the Chairman of FEH Russia, Valentin Buhtoyarov, on Tuesday announced the addition of Moscow.

The ePrix will take place on a 13-turn street circuit adjacent to the Kremlin. It will form round nine of the new series, with the season finale remaining as the London ePrix on June 27.

As a result of the new race, the date for the eighth round of the series – the Berlin ePrix – has been brought forward by one week and will now take place on May 23.

Todt said: "Russia’s presence in motorsport dates back to the beginning of the 20th Century but the growth rate which we have seen in the last few years is incredible. After the debut of WTCC two years ago and of Formula One last year, the launch of another FIA Championship in the country is an important
milestone in this growth path."

"We are delighted to be welcoming Moscow onto the 2014/2015 Formula E calendar as our 10th host city," said series CEO Agag.

Latest News from Sports News Desk