Vajpayee's larger than life size hoardings across the town said  those who are duty-bound or are worthy of taking up responsibility never fear a victory or a defeat" (kya haar main, kya jeet main, kinchit nahin baybheet main, kartavya path par jo bhi mile, yah bhi sahi vah bhi sahi).

The BJP election managers gave pre-eminence to Vajpayee in this caste-ridden constituency having more than 35,000 Brahmin voters given that it had been a forte of this Hindu upper caste since last 18 years.

Brahmin candidates Congress' Vrandavan Badgeya, BJP's Motilal Tiwari and Narayan Tripathi (who defected to BJP from Congress) have won this seat in MP's Satna district in elections since 1998.

So was the case this time around too. BJP candidate Tripathi again won the Maihar by-poll by defeating his nearest Congress rival Manish Patel by a margin of 28,281 votes. The results were declared after counting yesterday.

With this, Tripathi has created a record of sorts by winning this seat thrice from three different political parties -- SP, Congress and BJP.

Latest News from Madhya Pradesh News Desk