Bhopal: The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly is without a leader since September last. The post became vacant last year when Jamuna Devi, who became MLA first in 1952, passed away.

The Deputy Leader of the Congress in the Assembly, Choudhary Rakesh Singh Chaturvedi, was then appointed as the acting leader of the CLP.

Last week, B K Hariprasad, Congress General Secretary in-charge of party affairs here and Union Minister Mukul Wasnik, as a party observer, visited the city, and it was hoped that new CLP leader would be named.

They met all the Congress MLAs and discussed the issue, but no decision was taken, and it was announced that Congress President, Sonia Gandhi, would select the CLP leader.

The leaders who are vying for the post include Ajay Singh, Choudhary Rakesh Singh Chaturvedi, Mahendra Singh Kalukheda and Bisahu Lal Singh, party sources said.