New Delhi: The question raised by BJP leader and Rajya Sabha member Tarun Vijay regarding the utilization of MPLAD funds by various MPs left him in embarrassment on finding himself in the list of representatives of people who have not yet used the fund for the development of their constituencies.

Replying to the query made by the BJP leader, Shrikant Jena, Statistics and Programme Implementation Minister (independent charge) said, “Three Lok Sabha MPs and 22 Rajya Sabha MPs have not utilised MPLAD funds meant for the development of their constituencies.”

The list includes Lok Sabha MPs Lalu Prasad (RJD), Nishikant Dubey (BJP) and H D Kumaraswamy JD(S).

BJP’s Rajya  Sabha MPs: Hema Malini, Smriti Zubin Irani , Meghraj Jain, Ram Jethmalani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Dilipbhai Shashank Pandya and Tarun Vijay.  

BSP MPs: Jugal Kishore, Narendra Kumar Kashyap, Saleem Ansari, Pramod Kumar Kureel.

SP’s MP: Mohan Singh

Congress’s MPs: Anand Sharma, Satish Kumar Sharma, Narendra Budhania, Hussain  Omar Dalvi, Independent MP Vijay Mallya and JD(U)’s Ramchandra Prasad Singh.

Notably, the MPLAD fund has been raised to Rs 5 crore from Rs 2 crore this year. The CAG has pointed out that MPLADS funds are misused and are not monitored in most cases; some even unspent.