Sanjeev Goenka's New Rising won the bid for the Pune franchise while Intex won the bid for Rajkot after a reverse bidding process held in Delhi on Decmber 8 to replace suspended teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals for the next two editions to be held in 2016 and 2017.
Also available for picking by the Twenty20 League's two new franchises are other top international stars such as New Zealander Brendon McCullum, Australia's Shane Watson who is  now retired from international cricket, current Australian captain Steven Smith, and West Indian all-rounder Dwayne Bravo from a total of 50 cricketers who played for suspended IPL teams CSK and RR in the last edition earlier this year.
Pune will be given the choice to pick the players first because they were the lowest bidders (negative bids) to buy the new team for two years in the draft to be held at the Mumbai Cricket Association's recreation center at the Bandra Kurla Complex.

Also read:
Interesting facts about IPL

IPL has taken away home advantage from India in WT20: Virat Kohli

Latest News from Sports News Desk