Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was named as the 12th man in the side announced on Tuesday.

England captain Alastair Cook leads the ICC team, in which he features for the third straight year. South Africa's Dale Steyn has earned a place in the team for the sixth successive year.

Australia's Michael Hussey made the cut though he retired from international cricket in January. The performances over August 7, 2012 to August 25, 2013 were considered before selecting the team.

The side was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

The ICC Test Team of the Year is (in batting order): Alastair Cook (Eng, captain)Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind)Hashim Amla (SA)Michael Clarke (Aus)Michael Hussey (Aus)AB de Villiers (SA)MS Dhoni (Ind-Wicketkeeper)Graeme Swann (Eng)Dale Steyn (SA)James Anderson (Eng)Vernon Philander (SA)12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin.


Latest News from Sports News Desk