All the eyes will be on the high profile seats like Mau and Ghosi in Uttar Pradesh which are going to polls on February 11 in 2nd phase of state elections. Mafia-turned-politician Mukhtar Ansari is contesting from both the seats. Ansari has been three-time MLA from Mau seat.

Ansari defeated Vijay Pratap of the Bahujan Samaj Party in 2007 Assembly polls as an independent candidate in Mau. This time the BSP has fielded Bhim Rajbhar from Mau against Ansari. The Samajwadi Party gave ticket to Altaf Ansari while the Congress fielded Abu Bakar. Arjeet Singh is contesting as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate.

For the first time, he registered victory here on the BSP ticket in 1996 and retained the seat in 2002 and 2007 as an independent MLA. He also contested 2009 Lok Sabha election from Varanasi Parliamentary seat on the BSP ticket and lost to Murali Manohar Joshi of BJP.

Later he was expelled from the BSP. Now after floating a new party -- Quami Ekta Dal, he is contesting from jail. He is standing trial in BJP MLA Krishnanad Rai murder case.