Mumbai who made their third Indian Premier League final after defeating MS Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings by 25 runs at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday will play their final match at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on May 24.

Mumbai is the third team to play the first and final game of the IPL.

MI had played defending champions Kolkata Knight Riders in the first game of IPL 8 at the Eden Gardens on April 8 and the match was won by Gautam Gambhir led KKR. Despite Mumbai skipper Rohit's 65 balls 98 runs knock they lost by seven wickets.

Mumbai who is playing their third IPL final had beaten MS Dhoni's Chennai by 23 runs in the final of the IPL 2013 edition to avenge their 2010 defeat to the same team and lift their first title.

The first team to play the first and the final game of an IPL edition at the same venue is Chennai Super Kings. The Dhoni-led side had made the record in 2011 and 2012.

In 2011, the CSK beat KKR by 2 runs in the first game at the MA Chidambaram Stadium and defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 47 runs in the final.

In 2012, the CSK played the MI in the first match and KKR in the final at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. This time though, the CSK lost on both occasions.

The KKR is the other side to have played the first and the final games of an IPL edition but not in the same venue.

In 2014, they beat defending champions Mumbai by 41 runs in Abu Dhabi while they beat Kings XI Punjab in the final in Bengaluru by three wickets.

Latest News from Sports News Desk