New Delhi: It will be a mouthwatering contest between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Daredevils led by Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag, respectively on Sunday at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.

Mumbai Indians, who were the finalists last year, are easily the favourites on paper with Tendulkar, Kieron Pollard and Andrew Symonds ready to take any attack to the cleaners with their murderous approach.

For Delhi Daredevils, which lost seven (Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers, Ashish Nehra, Pradeep Sangwan, Daniel Vettori, Mithun Manhas, Rajat Bhatia) of their key players, it will be a real challenge to do well with a set-up that neither consists of any big international names nor an Indian player of repute save the skipper and South African speedster Morne Morkel.

The team consists of mainly India discards and fringe players who are trying to claw their way back into the national team.
Therefore, Sehwag certainly won't have the cushion that Tendulkar will have in his team.

With Mumbai Indians management deciding to retain four players (Tendulkar, Pollard, Harbhajan Singh and Lasith Malinga), the core of the team is intact.

Also the addition of the talented Rohit Sharma, New Zealand all-rounder James Franklin and controversial Australian batsman Andrew Symonds gives the necessary impetus to the line-up.

The Kotla pitch is likely to be on the slower side, which means Harbhajan Singh's four overs and Lasith Malinga's yorkers can be the key to Mumbai's success.

If Mumbai's bowling is a bit on the thinner side, Delhi's batting will largely depend on the kind of start that Sehwag and David Warner will give. Warner, who hasn't been a part of the national squad for some time, will use this opportunity to give the team a solid start.

The problem is Delhi Daredevils' middle-order which is pretty brittle. Barring the inconsistent Naman Ojha, there aren't any other players who are capable of consistently clearing boundaries.

The bowling line-up is a better one with Morkel spearheading the attack. The team has adequate pace back-up in veteran Ajit Agarkar, Bengal speedster Ashok Dinda and newcomer Varun Aaron.