Kharswan (JPN/Bureau): Jharkhand CM and BJP candidate Arjun Munda won the Kharsawan Assembly bypoll by an overwhelming majority defeating his Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantric) rival Dasrath Gagrai by over 17,000 votes.

The bypoll was required to enable Munda to get into the state Assembly within the mandatory six months period after becoming the Chief Minister on September 11 last year.
BJP sitting MLA Mangal Singh Soy had resigned two months ago to pave way for Munda, who will have to be elected to the state Assembly by March 11 to continue as CM.
Munda defeated Gagrai by over 17,000 votes, Returning Officer C K Singh  said. Besides Gagrai, five others, including Bahadur Oraon of CPI (ML) and four independents, were also in the fray. The polling took place on  February 10.
Munda now will have to vacate his Jamshedpur Lok Sabha constituency, which he had won in the 2009 general elections on a BJP ticket. The victory of Munda, a third time CM since 2003 did not came as a surprised particularly after the corrective measures adopted by the ruling party to change wind of support in its favour. Shibu Soren was a classic example of how powerful chief ministers too trip in small elections. Hence the winning of Kharsawan is a sort of personal achievement for Munda

The BJP described Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda's win in the Kharswan Assembly by-poll as the victory of the people, who reposed faith in the Munda-led coalition government in the state.
"The people of Kharswan rejected the opposition, who made all efforts including attempts to woo voters through money, as they preferred political stability for all round development of the state," said BJP spokesman Amarpreet Singh Kale here.