This would be for the first time in the history of Indian politics that a party, which attained absolute majority in the Lower House, has no Muslim MP in its line-up. Similarly, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which has 336 MPs, has only one Muslim face.

However, it has not yet been decided that how many Muslim faces would be given important positions in Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre. But it will be difficult for the alliance to scout for competent contenders.

The BJP has granted tickets to only seven Muslim candidates but none of them could attain success. In the same way, the NDA also has only one Muslim candidate – Lok Janshakti Party’s Mehboob Ali Kaiser, whose party entered into a last-minute alliance with the saffron party ahead of the polls. Kaiser himself defected from Congress to LJP in the eleventh hour. 

The results of general elections have proved this fact that the Muslim voters lost their own game in the pursuit of defeating BJP. In spite of comprising 15 percent out of the overall populations, this time, only four percent members would represent it in the Parliament.

Even in states like Uttar Pradesh, where the percentage of Muslim voters is more than 10 in 54 out of 80 seats, none of their representatives could be elected.

In such a scenario, only 22 Muslim MPs will make it to the Parliament now. The anti-BJP stance of Muslim voters proved beneficial for the candidates of majority community as they eventually happened to be rallying in the saffron party’s favour. It seems to be reflecting reverse polarization.

West Bengal tops the list of states when it comes to making an attempt towards making Muslim candidates emerge victorious. Out of the 42 Lok Sabha seats in this eastern Indian state, eight Muslim candidates registered victory.

Only four Muslim MPs from Bihar managed to sail through Lok Sabha. Apart from Kaiser, NCP’s Tariq Anwar, RJD’s Taslimuddin, and Asrarul Haque of Congress managed to win LS polls from Bihar.  


Latest News from India News Desk