The arrest warrants have been issued against 16 politicians and community leaders including BSP MP Qadir Rana, BJP MLAs Sangeet Som and Bhartendu Singh, BSP MLAs Noor Saleem and Maulana Jameel, Congress leader Saeeduzaman and BKU chief Naresh Tikait, police said.
Action will be taken against them in two days, Senior Superintendent of Police Praveen Kumar said. "We have arrested three to four politicians...we have collected some evidence...some more evidence is to be collected and very soon will be arrested...whoever is guilty will be arrested in two days...this is subject to investigation," he said.
They are wanted for violating prohibitory orders and provoking communal tension by inflammatory speeches in different meetings (mahapanchayats) in the district, police said.
Ten police teams have been rushed to arrest those against whom warrants have been issued, a senior official said. The communal clashes in Muzaffarnagar and adjoining areas claimed 47 lives and displaced over 40,000 people.

UP Assembly adjourned over Muzaffarnagar violence

The Uttar Pradesh Assembly was adjourned for half an hour on Wednesday amid uproar by the opposition parties demanding a debate on Muzaffarnagar riots.

As soon as the house assembled at 11 am, BSP leader Swami Prasad Maurya demanded that the question hour should be suspended and a debate be held on Muzaffarnagar incident.

He said that a message should go in the state and communal harmony should be restored. Leader of BJP Legislature Party Hukum Singh alleged that the government and the Cabinet were root of the trouble and a debate should be held on the issue.
Leader of Congress legislature party Pradeep Mathur also demanded a debate on the issue. While ruling SP members raised objections over the oppositions remarks Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey said that the government was ready for the debate under the rules, but the opposition parties were running away.

BJP members later entered into the well of the House demanding President rule in the state and shouted slogans after which the assembly was adjourned for 30 minutes. Later talking to the reporters Congress leader Pramod Tiwari alleged that those who do not want the debate were running from it.


Latest News from India News Desk