There are three nominees for the post -- U Htin Kyaw and U Henry Van Htee Yu of the  National League for Democracy, led by Nobel laureate Aung San Suu Kyi, and Lt Gen U Myint Swe nominated by the army, a news agency reported.

The parliament announcement came after the three presidential candidates were declared as being qualified for the run by speaker of the Union Parliament U Mann Win Khaing Than.

The country's parliament had set three groups representing the two houses and military member of parliament to nominate one candidate each for the presidential run.The one who wins the most number of votes will be declared president, while the remaining two will be appointed vice presidents.

Latest News from World News Desk