Governor P B Acharya summoned an Special Session of the Assembly for trial of strength as 22 NPF MLAs had openly rebelled against Zeliang on Wednesday and demanded to form government under the leadership of G Kaito Aye.

Earlier on Wednesday, Nagaland Assembly Speaker Chotisuh Sazo restored the membership of three MLAs, who were disqualified from the House last year, following an order of the Gauhati High Court.
The membership of Imtilemba Sangtam, T M Lotha and Mmhonlumo Kikon was restored in pursuance of an order of the Division Bench of the High Court quashing the Speaker's decision to disqualify the three MLAs from the assembly for claiming merger with BJP on June 16.

The three MLAs had been disqualified from the Assembly on August 25, 2014 for declaring merger with BJP, leaving behind one of their colleagues in the NCP on June 16, 2014.

Latest News from State News Desk