Sindhudurg-Ratnagiri is famous for tasty hapus mango and socialist politics. Madhu Dandavate and Bapusaheb Parulekar had been represented Sindhudurg-Ratnagiri in the Lok Sabha in the past. But with the declining of socialistic era, the constituency has turned into Shiv Sena stronghold.  Pre-delimitation in 2009, the region consisted of Rajapur and Ratnagiri from where Shiv Sena stalwarts Suresh Prabhu and Anant Gite won several times.

In 2009 general elections, Nilesh succeeded in defeating Suresh Prabhu by margin of 46,750 votes. In a changed situation, Nilesh Rane is facing uphill task in retaining Sindhudurg-Ratnagiri seat where senior leaders of Congress and NCP have failed to unite their workers on the ground level.

Nilesh, the Congress candidate from Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg seat, has been pitted against Shiv Sena's Vinayak Raut.

The anti-Congress sentiments are evident in the region as the NCP workers have openly announced their withdrawal of support from the Rane junior by declaring not to campaign for the sitting MP and publicly asking the top leadership to call off NCP president Sharad Pawar’s public rally for him.

Out of six assembly constituencies in Sindhudurg-Ratnagiri, the Congress had won one seat, NCP two and Shiv Sena-BJP combine three. Despite having its two MLAs from the region, the NCP doesn’t want to lose its claim of fielding its own candidate from the constituency in the next elections. This is probably the reason behind NCP not helping Congress nominee win the seat two times consequently.

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray has succeeded in ironing out differences between Suresh Prabhu and Vinayak Raut who is trying to sail through the Lok Sabha polls riding on the Modi wave.


Latest News from State News Desk