“On Utkal Diwas, I extend my greetings to sisters & brothers of Odisha,” he wrote on twitter.

Utkala Diwas, also known as Odisha Day, is celebrated on April 1 every year to commemorate the foundation day of the state. Odisha was formed on April 1, 1936, and to remember the contributions and sacrifices made by the people of the state in those olden days, Utkal Diwas or Orissa Day is celebrated.

The newly formed state consisted of six districts namely Cutack, Puri, Baleswar, Sambalpur, Koraput and Ganjam having its capital at Cuttack. The state was later divided into 13 districts and then 30 districts.

The day is celebrated as state holiday in Odisha.


Latest News from State News Desk