New Delhi: An outstanding print media industry professional with over 51 years experience in business management, Naresh Mohan is joining the Board of Trustees of The Tribune Trust as a member. He was chosen unanimously in a Trust meeting presided over by the President, R S Talwar, in New Delhi on May 6.

Acknowledged for his in depth  knowledge and understanding of the print media, Mohan was Executive President, The Hindustan Times Limited, from September, 1985 to December 1998 and then served as its adviser from January 1999 to December 2001. He gave 32 years of his career to The Hindustan Times Limited in various positions..

Since then he has been engaged in media consultancy and is on the Board of Directors of several media companies including the Jagran Group, Mid-day and The Statesman. He has also been on the Board of Directors of textiles and sugar companies.

Mohan, who headed several major media organizations was President of the Indian Newspaper Society (1990-1991), the central organisation of the press in India and has been a chairman of various sub-committees of the Society. He is currently a member of the Executive Committee of the Society.

He was Chairman, Audit Bureau of Circulations (1998-1999); Chairman, United News of India (1992-1994) and its Executive Director (2000-2003); Chairman, Press Institute of India (1994-1998); Member, Press Council of India (1995-1998); Member, Manisana Wage Board for working journalists and Member, Majithia Wage Board for working journalists and non-journalist newspaper employees.

In his distinguished career, Mohan has been bestowed with many awards. In 1997 he was honoured by the Indian Language Newspaper Association for his contribution towards Development of Language Newspapers. In 1989, he was awarded the RN Bagur Memorial All-India Award for Management Development by the Bharat Chamber of Commerce, Kolkata, for his outstanding contribution towards organisational development and growth.

He is also a recipient of Indira Priyadarshini Award for outstanding service, achievements and contribution (1991) and the Mohyal Gaurav Samman by the All India Mohyal Conference (1999).