New Delhi: It has been 14 years since India won the Kargil war against Pakistani intruders in 1999. The whole nation celebrates the 14th anniversary of the victory and a number of events have been planned all across the country to commemorate the bravery displayed by the soldiers who made supreme sacrifice for their motherland during the war.

Pics : Remembering the Kargil Victory

A candlelight tribute was paid to martyrs on the eve of Kargil Vijay Divas in Jammu and Kashmir's Drass sector. Defence Minister AK Antony and the Chiefs of the three armed forces- Army, Navy and Air Force- also paid their tributes to the martyrs at Amar Jawan Jyoti at India Gate on Friday morning.

Kargil Vijay Diwas, named after the success of Operation Vijay is held on July 26 every year to mark the victory of 1999. The success in foiling the nefarious designs of foreign intruders came at a heavy price because our armed forces lost 527 brave soldiers and over 1300 sustained injuries.

Kargil war heroes:

Amol Kalia: The recapture of a key position in the Batalik sector by Capt Amol Kalia and his thirteen men, all of whom died, was one of the bravest acts seen during the Kargil war. Nation's third highest wartime gallantry award VIR CHAKRA was awarded to Captain Amol Kalia on 15th August 1999.

Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav: Grenadier Yogender Singh Yadav was part of the leading team of Ghatak Platoon tasked to capture Tiger Hill. He displayed the most conspicuous courage, grit and determination under extreme adverse circumstances. He was awarded the highest Indian military honour, Param Vir Chakra for his actions during the Kargil War.

Lt Vijyant Thapar: Captain Vijyant Thapar belonged to the famous 2 Rajputana Rifles (infantry regiment). He fell while leading an attack of 2 Rajputana Rifles at Tololing (Black Rocks -KNOLL) during the Kargil War on 29 June 1999. He was 22 years old and was awarded the Vir Chakra by the President, for his audacious bravery during the Kargil War.

Anuj Nayar: Nation's second highest wartime gallantry award MAHA VIR CHAKRA was awarded to Captain Anuj Nair on 15th August 1999. Nayyar was an officer of the 17 Jat Regiment of the Indian Army. Despite being grievously injured, Nayyar continued to lead the remaining men in his company. He succumbed to his injuries but not before clearing the last bunker on Pt. 4875.

Naik Krishnakumar Yadav: Soon after the 18 Grenadiers Naik Krishnakumar Yadav lost his leg in a mine blast on Tiger Hill in Kargil. Care Today encouraged and helped him greatly. He now runs an oil agency.

Mohammed Arif: During the Kargil war, Mohammed Arif was held as prisoner of war (PoW) in Pakistan for five years.


Latest News from India News Desk